Building an Effective Security Team

Blog Post created by treyford Employee on Oct 26, 2015

Concluding our National Cyber Security Awareness Month webcast series, next week I’ll be joining a discussion around how to develop, nurture, and retain good security staff:


Building an Effective Security Team

Wednesday, October 28th at 11am ET/ 8am PT and 4pm BST

  • Chris Calvert, Senior Strategy Manager, Red Team and Cyber Threat Intelligence at TELUS
  • David Henning, Director of Network Security at Hughes Network Systems
  • Bob Lord, CISO in Residence at Rapid7


It’s widely known that the demand for skilled security professionals far exceeds the supply, which means organizations are working hard to identify and attract strong candidates. Investing in the development of future security professionals will also help to address the skills shortage – the question is, how do we do that?


To achieve long-term success, organizations must have a balanced security team that takes into account the capabilities of each individual. For example, some team members will be technical, while others need to have stronger leadership and managerial skills. Having clear-cut opportunities for professional development is key to attracting job seekers; understand the composition of the team and factor that into their career growth plan – people want to work for a company that demonstrates a commitment to their future. The group as a whole must have a clear understanding of program goals, success criteria, and how their work aligns with key business objectives.


Join us Wednesday to explore this core topic on our webcast. We’ll also talk about how to create a culture of excellence, setting developmental targets, when to leverage services to fill the talent gap, and how to nurture the next generation of security professionals.