OWASP Top 10

Document created by professor on Dec 10, 2012Last modified by zeroorone on Jun 18, 2015
Version 4Show Document
  • View in full screen mode

Hello? Is this thing on? *ehem* Hello Security Streeters this is my first time writing for the Security street blogs and I’m surprised I haven’t done so in the past given that I’ve earned the nickname in Rapid7 as being the Nexpose and metasploit “troublemaker”; however,  let’s leave the troublemaking in the backseat for now and talk about a new and exciting feature that’s coming out with Nexpose 5.5 featuring (among other goodies) a brand new reporting engine!

During our internal rapid7 report hackathon a few weeks before the launch of Nexpose 5.5 we talked about ideas and needs that users of Nexpose would ask us during conversations, evaluations and face to face conversations at conferences and, being part of the Security Solutions team means that I have firsthand interaction with users and prospective clients about what they feel they truly need when it comes to handling the copious amount of data coming from Nexpose.

One of those needs is very simple yet very straightforward: An OWASP Top 10 Vulnerability report. Why do we need to know about this? Well, studies have uncovered that when it comes to attacks SQL injection is the second most discussed amongst hackers and attackers after a DDoS, placing it as the number one web application vulnerability according to OWASP. We can definitely build firewalls to protect our internal networks and filter packets going inside our systems, but when your web applications are leaking information, an attacker can get out with a lot of data: credit card, social security, credentials for other internal systems among other pieces of loot.